Rebecca, Ch. 4

Ch. 4:

As Rebecca paced back and forth in Michael’s hospital room, she couldn’t help but think back to earlier that day, as Nancy and Rebecca came home from a day of shopping.

“You look amazing in that dress, my love,” Nancy said, giving Rebecca the once over, “I’m so glad I picked it out for you.”

“I’m just glad I still look good at all,” Rebecca said, with a hint of sarcasm in her voice, “35 has not been kind to me.”

“You’ll still be gorgeous when your 60,” Nancy said, looking longingly at Rebecca with a mixture of desire and torment, “I just hope I’m around to see it.”

As Rebecca was about to respond, the doorbell rang. Rebecca kissed Nancy on the cheek and walked over to the door, throwing on a robe over the skimpy dress as she looked through the peep-hole. There were two police officers standing at the door.

“Can I help you officers?” Rebecca asked as she nervously opened the front door.

“Are you Rebecca Manheim ma’am?” The taller of the two officers asked.

“Yes I am,” Rebecca said as she felt her heart beat quickening, “Can I ask what this is about?”

“My name is Detective Raul McKinney, and this is my partner Detective Gregory Edwards,” Raul said. “This is about your husband Michael Manheim. There’s been an accident and your husband is in the hospital.”

Rebecca’s mind began to race as she imagined what had happened. She frantically looked around for something to sit on as the room began to spin and she felt her feet give way underneath her. The detectives reached for Rebecca as she fell to the floor. Rebecca quickly regained composure and walked into the sitting room, where she sat down in the closest chair. She wiped the tears from her face and steadied her breathing as she tried to remain calm.

“Was there anyone else in the car?” Rebecca asked, terrified of the answer.

“No ma’am,” Gregory said, perplexed, “Just your husband.”

“Which hospital was he taken to?” Rebecca asked as she prepared to leave.

“Mercy General ma’am.” Raul said, “We can take you there if you’d like.”

“Oh no, that will be fine,” Rebecca said with a hint of urgency in her tone, “I’d prefer to take my own car if you don’t mind.”

“As long as you feel safe to drive, we’re okay with it,” Both detectives said as they exchanged perplexed glances, as Rebecca ushered them out the door.

Rebecca ran to grab her things, almost forgetting Nancy was there. She was startled out of her daze when Nancy grabbed her shoulder.

“Where are you going?”

“Michael’s been in an accident,” Rebecca said, as the news began to sink in, “I need to get to the hospital.”

“I’ll clean up here,” Nancy said, hugging Rebecca tightly, “Go take care of Michael.”

Leave a comment

Filed under lizheartshakespeare

Leave a Reply

