Day Two: August 26th, 2010

Went much better than day one. Sorry I’m not posting this until the following morning, I had a long day yesterday and didn’t feel like kicking Joe off the computer to write this.

I was a bit of a bad girl and skipped breakfast entirely. I’m going to have to work on that. I’m so not even a morning person, its ridiculous. Poor Joe is terrified to wake me up, and my mom refuses to unless she has coffee in hand for me. I’m a bit of a bitch when I wake up, to say the least.

So yesterday was pretty good as far as dieting goes. For lunch we went to a deli and I actually got the small size on my sandwich with a diet coke! And I didn’t even finish the sandwich because I got full. I never get full, especially before I’m finished. I’m not blaming my parents for my bad habits, but as a kid I was always told you finish what’s in front of you, whether your full or not. Needless to say it stuck into adulthood, and now I’m paying the price for it.

Yesterday was Joe’s other day off, so we went and ran errands after we got lunch, and I felt pretty good while we were doing that. Normally I tend to be kind of lethargic after lunch, but not yesterday. It was definitely an improvement.

As far as dinner is concerned, we tend to eat kind of late. I know that’s bad, but we don’t have much of a choice. Joe doesn’t get off work until 7pm, and I don’t like eating without him, so on the days he works, we’re not eating dinner until 8:30-9pm, depending on when we get started on dinner. Since our bodies are programmed for that, on his days off we usually keep the same schedule. But we’re pretty good about eating a healthy dinner, and last night was no exception.

We had chicken, rice, and broccoli, which is pretty standard fare around here. Its inexpensive and good for you, so we usually have chicken, rice, and a veggie or chicken, a potato, and a veggie. We use McCormick marinades, which, so long as you don’t pour the marinade into the pan over the chicken, is actually pretty healthy for you. And they’re easy to make, which is a plus for me. I’m not the best cook in the world, so anything that makes it easier and/or healthier is definitely a plus in my book.

After dinner is usually when we start to wind down, but I had energy for the first time in a while last night, so that was put to good use šŸ˜€ Since we’ve been eating healthier, I’ve noticed an increase in my desire to engage in certain activities, which is definitely a plus for our relationship. I’ve noticed it in him too, and that helps me be more into it. It’s a win-win situation šŸ˜€

I’ve been trying to get to bed around 11:30pm, which can be kind of early for me, though I’m definitely enjoying it more. I’m actually able to get up in the morning and take S to school, and not come back home and fall right back to sleep. Instead, I’m the one trying to get Joe up right now, and let me tell you, that is no small feat šŸ™‚

So overall, I’m already seeing an improvement. I’m not going to weigh myself for a few weeks, simply because I’ve found I get discouraged if I start a diet by weighing myself every week or whatever. I’d rather see the changes in my life first and realize that the numbers will follow, albeit slowly.

Well, until tonight, I bid you adieu šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Liz's Weight Loss Journey

Leave a Reply

