The Expendables: Blood, Guts, and Multiple Explosions

First, I have to give thanks where thanks is due. Thank you to my good friend Jayne for inviting us, and her younger brother for getting us into see The Expendables last night. I had a great time, and it was good to get out of the house and do something, even if I didn’t crawl into bed until well after midnight. I had a great time hanging out with my best friend and Joe. And I’m sure Joe appreciates the fact that we didn’t drag him to go see Eat, Pray, Love.

Now onto the fun part. The Expendables is what every girl refers to as a “guy” movie. Within the first two minutes of the film, someone is getting the crap kicked out of them. Throughout the entire movie, I think I saw two “mushy” parts. The rest of it was, as I put in the title, blood, guts, and multiple explosions happening all at once. The time devoted to developing the plot was minimal. And most of it was the cornucopia of action stars talking about how big their muscles were and what they were going to annihilate next.

In a word, it was awesome. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I’ve seen most of the men in this film doing virtually the same thing in dozens of other films, but something about seeing them all together just made it that much more awesome. Not to mention the special effects were out of this world. We didn’t sit too far up, so we got to see the action up close and personal, and I have to admit, during some of the more volatile scenes in the movie, I thought I was watching it all unfold live. It was pretty good, even for a Sylvester Stallone (he directed) movie.

Even good ole Arnold made an appearance, though he didn’t see much (read: none) action in the movie. I guess being governor has made him soft or something, but it was funny to see him in there all the same. The only other person I would have liked to see was either Vin Diesel for some new action movie star blood in there or The Rock ( i.e Dwayne Douglas Johnson). Then again, he’s put out some not so stellar movies in the recent past, so I can understand why he wasn’t included. Or maybe I was just looking for some younger eye candy, who knows?

Overall, I would recommend this film to anyone who’s a fan of blood and guts from beginning to end, with little in the way of plot development. I don’t think its Oscar worthy, but if your into absolutely huge explosions, this film is for you.

Leave a comment

Filed under lizheartshakespeare

Leave a Reply

