I’ve been thinking…

I’ve been really bad about updating this blog, mostly because I feel bad about not sticking to my diet completely, but also because I’ve been super busy, though that’s not as big of a problem.

So I’ve been thinking about where I want to go with dieting in general, and I’ve come up with an idea. I’ve always been told that once you do something for 30 days in a row, it becomes a habit, and I’ve found that to be true in my own life as well. Once I start doing something on a consistent basis, its pretty hard for me to break that habit.

And so I’m thinking about applying that to different pieces of my diet at different times. Let me explain.

I’ve found that introducing a lot of drastic changes to my eating habits at once just simply isn’t working, i.e, consistently eating breakfast, lunch, dinner, and two snacks everyday. Then, once I “fail” at one, I feel like it’s no use doing any of the others. I have a really hard time getting up and actually eating breakfast. And since my first “failure” comes pretty early in the day, you see where the problem is.

So my plan is this. Gradually introduce the changes I need to make, then once I’ve conquered one obstacle, I move onto the next. If I feel like making a snack (like I did today 🙂 ), then I will, but I’m not going to  force myself to if I don’t want to. That way, I don’t feel bad if I forget to eat and blow up for the rest of the day.

So what’s my first goal? I’ve already pretty much got dinner down, mostly because I have to think about Joe for that as well, so it would be cheating if I made that my first goal. Instead, I’ve decided to focus on breakfast instead. I really have no excuse to not eat breakfast, and I’m up early enough, so that is my goal for the next 30 days. Once I’ve conquered breakfast, I’ll move onto a morning snack, then lunch, and finally my afternoon snack.

This way, I’m making the changes I need to make, but not pushing myself so hard that I feel like I’m a total failure when I miss a meal or snack.

Leave a comment

Filed under Liz's Weight Loss Journey

Leave a Reply

