Huh?

I’m pretty sure I just had an epiphany, so stick with me.

Anyone who knows me knows I grew up in a Christian home. I’ve spent the better part of my adulthood trying to figure out exactly what it is I believe. Its led me on a pretty amazing journey, and I’ve encountered a lot of things I didn’t expect to see.

But you see, I’ve got a problem when it comes to organized religion. Its pretty simple. People fuck shit up, royally if I do say so myself. We only have to look to the crusades, the 9/11 terrorist attacks, the whole Prop 8 debacle, and the daily lives of millions of people in the Middle East to realize that people screw shit up all the time.

And because of that, I’ve become rather disconnected from the whole idea of organized religion. You see, I’m not your typical card-carrying member of the local church. In fact, I’m so far beyond that, it’s not even funny.

I think marijuana should be legalized across the board. I truly believe that marriage should be extended to everyone, regardless of whether or not the person they want to marry is a different gender or not. I drink on occasion. I have wonderful sex with my boyfriend, outside of wedlock. And I go to the planned parenthood clinic every 12 weeks to get a little shot I like to call my insurance policy against unplanned pregnancy. Oh and I’m from California, and I believe everyone who is in this country illegally should be slung shot back to wherever they came from.

All of this makes me a very non-traditional Christian. But I will tell you what I do believe.

I believe that in order to go to heaven you must do two things:

1. Believe in God and His Son, Jesus Christ.

2. At least make an honest attempt to live a good life and be good to the people around you.

Beyond that, I think the rest is a bunch of bullshit. Oh, and if you haven’t figured it out yet, cussing isn’t a problem for me. If it is for you, I would suggest finding something else to read. I won’t apologize for it, especially since this is my blog, and definitely not to any family members who happen to read this. Ahem.

But the question comes in, what is a “good person”? Is it someone who recycles? Sure, unless they’re stealing from their neighbor so they can get more money at the recycling center.Defining who a “good person” is, is harder than it looks. Everyone has a different opinion. Buuuuutttttt…

While I don’t agree with many of the things most Christian churches teach, they did get it right in a few places, namely in Matthew chapters 5-7 (A.K.A The Sermon on the Mount) and Galatians 5:22-23 (A.K.A the Fruit of the Spirit). In these two passages can be found the guidelines for living what I believe to be a good life.

So, in a rather long and winded format, we come to what the purpose of this blog is. Oh you guys are going to love me for this.

My plan, God willing, is to take a section of each of those passages each day, and break it down. What it means, how to apply it, the whole shebang. Read if you like, it’s going to be an interesting journey. And feel free to comment, just keep in mind that I moderate ALL comments prior to approval, and I absolutely do not tolerate any rudeness or disrespect. We’ll start tomorrow off with the Galatians passage on that first bullet point, Love.

Leave a comment

Filed under Biblical Liz

Leave a Reply

