Romans Introduction

It’s finally here! I know, its been a long time coming. I HAVE been working on it, I just haven’t been able to devote the time to it that I thought I would. That and it took a LOT longer than I thought it would. But without further adieu:

Romans Introduction and Book Overview

Keywords: These keywords are taken from the book “Discover the Bible for Yourself” By Kay Arthur. I would HIGHLY recommend purchasing this book (clicking on the title will take you to its Amazon page) as I will be using this book throughout my study of the book of Romans. While I will try to explain to the best of my ability what each new section is in my study of the individual chapters, I cannot guarantee I will explain it exactly the way the original author intended it, so it would be best to have the book on hand.

But what are keywords? In every chapter of the book listed above, there will be a list of words that appear several times in the text of your bible. This particular list is a list of words found several (or more) times throughout the entire book of Romans, so I have started the list with their occurrences in chapter one of Romans. I will be adding to this list as we go on and updating this particular post as I study each chapter.
Grace: 1:5, 7;
Faith: 1:5, 8, 12, 17;
Law:
Justified: 1:17;
Righteous: 1:17, 32;
Wrath: 1:18;
Judge: 1:32
Gospel: 1:1, 9, 15, 16;
Believe: 1:16;
Sin:
Hope:
Gentiles: 1:13;
Jesus Christ: 1:1, 3, 6, 7, 8;
Spirit: 1:4, 9;

What is “Therefore” there for? Throughout Paul’s writing, and in the epistle to the Romans for the purposes of this study, Paul uses the word “Therefore” to identify an important point or message he wants to get across. As I read through the chapters, I will be finding these terms and recording what I believe Paul is trying to communicate, both to the original recipients and to us today. I would highly recommend having a concordance (that link will take you to the Amazon page for the best concordance out there, in my opinion) on hand for this, that way you make sure you identify ALL the “Therefore’s” throughout the book of Romans. It also makes it easier if you want to look at them before reading the entire chapter, which I DO recommend. Skimming the text to identify the key points prior to reading it WILL make it easier to focus on the overall message of the text.

Romans 1:24: Paul is warning against giving into the desires of the flesh.

Leave a comment

Filed under Biblical Liz

Leave a Reply

