Why Americans Suck

 

Don’t worry, the Vlog is coming soon. According to YouTube, it has “about” 10 minutes left, which we all know means 20, but whatever.

But that’s not why I’m writing this post. I want to talk about why Americans suck, and how they’re spreading that suckiness all over the world. Don’t get me wrong, I love living here, and there are some truly awesome things about America that I take for granted everyday, like the ability to look at whatever I want to on the internet without my government telling me I can’t, and a million other things that I can’t seem to remember at the moment. But we definitely suck. Here’s why:

1. We are a now, now, NOW society. If we can’t get it in 2 minutes flat, we don’t want it. Why do you think places like McDonald’s thrive while places like Best Thai (A restaurant near where I live that serves BOMB Thai food) struggle to keep the lights on? We’re moving so fast that we expect everything to move with us at the same speed. But some things are just better when they’re done right, and that takes time. Think of it this way. How many times in the last week have you grabbed a meal at a fast food restaurant? How many times in the last week have you eaten in your car? How many times in the last month have you served your kids pop tarts instead of fixing them breakfast? We say it’s because we have to, but do we really?

 

2. We think our way of life is superior to everyone else’s, even though we are one of the worst countries in the world in terms of education, health care, and jobs. We import more than we export. 1 out of every 150 kids in America is born with an Autism Spectrum Disorder. Childhood obesity is on the rise. Despite advances in medicine, more people are dying of preventable diseases such as diabetes and heart disease. Yet, we go to countries like Iraq and Afghanistan and attempt to force our way of life upon them because we don’t understand their culture.

 

3. We’re not open to learning about other cultures. Did you know that we’re one of the few developed countries that doesn’t require its citizens to speak English? Virtually every other nation requires their school children to learn English, ALONG with their native language.

 

4. Education is NOT a priority in America. We ranked somewhere in the TWENTIES when compared to other developed countries in math and science. More and more kids are graduating high school without being able to read and write English. And then we expect these kids to be able to compete in a highly competitive, highly selective job market? A company will hire someone from another country if they have the skills that they need. If we TRULY want future generations to be successful, we NEED to make education a priority.

So that’s why I think America sucks. Feel free to add your own reasons in the comments.

2 Comments

Filed under NotMyBetterHalf

2 responses to “Why Americans Suck

  1. Well, I serve *myself* Pop-Tarts, because I just plain like them… 😛

    • Liz

      Haha, me too. I just remember how my mom would always make us breakfast, even if she was dead tired because she’d just gotten home from working graveyard so I could have new clothes for fall. It makes me think that people just don’t care enough anymore, which is sad. That’s why I said pop tarts.

      But yea, they’re awesome, don’t get me wrong. My favorite are the brown sugar cinnamon ones, what are yours?

Leave a Reply

