My Take on Dieting

As many of you know, I’ve struggled with my weight for a really long time, most of my adult life to be exact. A few months ago, I decided to tackle my weight issues head on and start dieting and exercising.

It hasn’t been going so well, as I’m sure many of you have noticed. I want to say I’m committed to losing weight, but if I was, I wouldn’t be writing this while sucking down my second cup of coffee for the day, right before I go put my left over lasagna in the microwave for lunch today.

And it’s not fair to my readers when I say I’m going to do something and then continuously blow it off to the point where they don’t even care anymore.

So here’s how this is going to work from now on. I’m going to try to be good. I can’t (or won’t) make any promises I don’t intend to keep, so please keep that in mind when you come to read my weight loss posts. They may or may not be pretty.

As a caveat to that decision though, I’m going to be completely honest with everyone on this site, starting tomorrow, about what the numbers look like. I would start today, but as I’ve already eaten, it wouldn’t be an accurate representation of where I’m actually at. Then once a week I will be posting exactly what the numbers are, no fudging allowed. I’m doing this because it seems peer pressure, or the assumption of peer pressure, seems to work best for me in my quest to lose weight. And to be honest, I kind of want the numbers to come down, but I have to know what the numbers are in order to know if I’m going up or down, and if you think I haven’t been honest with you when it comes to dieting, you have no idea how dishonest I’ve been with myself when it comes to dieting. I keep telling myself that the numbers don’t matter, but we all know that’s a bunch of horse manure.

So I’m (sort of) back on track. Check back tomorrow to find out just how well that works.

2 Comments

Filed under Liz's Weight Loss Journey

2 responses to “My Take on Dieting

  1. Hi Liz,
    I just want to say thanks for subscribing to my blog (you’re my first subscriber!!) and also to encourage you in your weight loss program. I have been a member of Weight Watchers for several years, and while I have to say that I haven’t been following it very well lately due to job stress, lack of time, and holidays, I think it is the best program out there. I hate fad diets, or the ones that tell you only to eat certain kinds of foods (remember the South Beach diet?? – what a crock!!). I like Weight Watchers because it is scientifically based, teaches you how to make healthy choices (instead of making you pay lots of $$ to buy their specially made breakfasts, lunches, and dinners like some programs do), and subscribes to a balance of eating healthy and exercise. They are very encouraging to their members. AND you still get to eat chocolate!!

    I am not saying you should sign up for Weight Watchers, (and maybe you already have), I just want to encourage you to keep up the effort! You’ll feel better and live longer if you do!!

    • Liz

      Your very welcome =)

      I’m not working at the moment, so weight watchers isn’t really an option for me, but I have been counting calories and making sure I exercise on a fairly regular basis. I’ve actually managed to lose about 6 pounds since I started dieting in earnest, which is a big accomplishment for me. I’ve found an online community that encourages me and keeps me accountable. I’m actually going to write a post on it probably tomorrow, I just wanted to make sure I was going to stick with the diet before I said anything here.

      Liz

Leave a Reply

