Canon PowerShot SD1300 IS (Silver)

Its small. Its user-friendly. It’s a little on the pricey side (It retails for $179.99), but well worth the price. And it helps a complete novice like myself take great pictures.

 

If you’re looking for a techie review, your probably not going to find it here. I haven’t even read the PDF user manual that comes on the disc in the box, and I probably wouldn’t understand half of it if I did. I’m just glad I finally figured out how to set the date, time and language on the damn thing. I’m still trying to figure out if I can switch it to a 12 hour clock instead of a 24 hour clock, but that’s another issue entirely.

But none of that changes the fact that over the last two days since I got the camera from my wonderful (and very sneaky) boyfriend, I’ve taken nothing but great pictures. Here is one of my favorites:

 

THAT, ladies and gentleman is a very active puppy who has just lost sight of her shadow and is currently on a very active hunt to find it. And it looks like she is standing still. If I’d even attempted to take that shot with my old camera:

 

it would have been nothing but a blur of hair and motion. Not to mention the fact that my old camera was 2-3 TIMES the size of my new camera, and I was sold the minute I put the canon in my hands.

Now don’t get me wrong, the fuji was well worth it for what it was. But it’s big and bulky. And unless you are a really good photographer, isn’t really worth the $339.93 that Amazon is currently selling it for. I got mine a few years back when I thought that I might want to become a photographer, and have been regretting it pretty much ever since. My biggest complaint about it would have to be the size. I was always having to remind myself that I couldn’t just drop it in my purse unless I wanted to scratch the lens.

With the Canon, that problem is pretty much solved. It fits in my pocket, and the lens retracts and covers itself so I don’t have to worry about scratching it. Best of all, I’ve never taken a better picture. Pictures that I thought were going to come out blurry came out perfectly, which was great because you can’t always get people to hold still while you take a picture. I was able to capture several shot that I thought for sure were going to be a blur of movement, but the Canon corrected itself perfectly each and every time.

One of the other things I like about the camera is how it seems to correct in the camera itself for things that are beyond my control, like harsh lighting situations. I took a picture of my cousin that I thought was going to blur him right out because of the way the sun was shining, but while I was lining up the shot the camera “saw” that the sun was going to be a problem and automatically corrected it so my shot came out perfectly.

I was confused as to what the IS meant at the end of the camera’s title, but I found out rather quickly that what it stood for was image stabilization, and the camera definitely lives up to its name. I have very shaky hands, so most of the time the shots on my old camera would reflect that. The Canon, however corrects wonderfully for that problem, and I couldn’t be happier with it.

At the end of the day, I have to say I am very pleased with the camera. I have yet to take the camera off of auto mode, which is wonderful. It automatically figures out what you are trying to shoot and automatically adjusts all the different things that go into taking a picture so you end up with the best possible picture, each and every time. I would definitely recommend this camera to all my readers, no matter what your photography skills are like.

Leave a comment

Filed under lizheartshakespeare

Leave a Reply

