Why did you start blogging?

This is actually a fairly difficult question to answer. There are a lot of things in my life that don’t make a whole lot of sense, but I do them anyways. Blogging is one of those things.

I guess I could say I do it because its cathartic, which, for the most part, is true. It helps me deal with my demons, so to speak, and it helps me realize where it is my life is headed if I just write stuff down. But I could do all that with a journal and not have to worry about people that I don’t even know judging me. And I keep a journal too, so why DO I blog?

If I’m being honest with myself, I crave the interaction with others. I’d like to think that someone out there can identify with what I’m going through, what I’m feeling, or what I’m doing. Up until a couple of weeks ago, I wasn’t so sure I was connecting with people, and it made me seriously question whether or not I ought to continue. But then today happened, and I realized I wasn’t alone. Why? Because of this:

“I completely understand your insecurities. I’m struggling with my own, but the best advice I can give you is to make yourself happy. Economically, jobs are hard to come by. My father was laid off at the place he worked at for over 10 years. My mom did the same. It’s happened with my aunt and cousin as well. My father only found part-time work at first, then finally got a full-time position at Menards. My mom just became a stay-at-home-mom, even though her two oldest kids were in college, and her youngest is a teenager. My aunt and cousin are going back to school.

Many people change careers several times in their lives and possibly aren’t happy with the final result. It’s okay that you’ve been going to college on and off for 8 years because you’re still trying. I commend you for that. I applaud all people who go back to school to improve their lives and the lives of their families.

If someone loves you, then you are enough. You obviously don’t have horrible flaws (like being a murderer, drug dealer, etc.). I don’t know you, but I think you’re good enough for anything you want to do.”

That was a comment left on a post I did yesterday, which can be found HERE. I’d just like to say thank you to the author of that comment, and please realize that I appreciate you more than you will ever know.

1 Comment

Filed under lizheartshakespeare

One response to “Why did you start blogging?

  1. “I guess I could say I do it because its cathartic”. I started “bloging” before blogs were invented. I used to add tiny sheets of paper to the insides of my Bible so I could note both the progress I made or didn’t make in the Lord. Then it progressed to a legacy to be left to my children. Then it progressed to a testimony of the Lord’s Greatness. Then blogs came into being and I was taken by promoting this information to the world. Well, so much for telling the world. It didn’t take long before I noticed something: There is a distinct lack of interest in the world for the Greatness of God.

    So why do I continue bloging? Because it is a means of testifying the Glory of Jesus. Man won’t give me much notice while my feet still support my wrinkly frame. But who knows how Jesus will use it when I’m in His presence.

    By His Grace.

Leave a Reply

