Finding God’s Path Through Your Trials…

That’s the name of the book I’m reading right now. Its written by Elizabeth George, and I’ve come to respect her writing, even though we may disagree on certain things. Considering the complete and utter chaos that is my life right now, I find this book helps me focus and gain perspective on the trials I’m going through right now. Printed in that book is an anonymous poem, which can be found at the end of chapter 12. It goes like this:

“I asked God for strength that I might achieve,

I was made weak that I might learn to humbly obey.

I asked for help that I might do greater things,

I was given infirmity that I might do better things.

I asked for riches that I might be happy,

I was given poverty that I might be wise.

I asked for power that I might have the praise of men,

I was given weakness so that I might feel the need of God.

I asked for all things that I might enjoy life,

I was given life that I might enjoy all things.

I got nothing that I asked for but everything I had hoped for.

I am among all men, most richly blessed.”

My hope is to one day have this attitude about my life. I’m not there yet, so please be patient with me while I figure all this shit out.

1 Comment

Filed under Biblical Liz

One response to “Finding God’s Path Through Your Trials…

  1. Improving yourself is an ongoing process. There is never a final result so to speak, but every day you get through you can go back and notice how you’ve changed, and reflect upon that. I would suggest writing your accomplishments down every day (including washing the dishes, paying bills, etc.) to see how much you actually do. You’re doing your best with what you’ve got, and that’s all anyone can ask for.

Leave a Reply

